OBU Records Fall in Arkansas

Oklahoma Baptist University's indoor track team set three new school records, won two events, reached 13 national qualifying marks and nine provisional marks in the University of Arkansas Invitational Friday.

Mirriam Kaumba won the 3000 meters, breaking her own school record with a time of 9:30.22. Her previous record of 9:34.96 came in 2004.

Nickiesha Wilson and Latoya Greaves finished first and second in the 60 meter hurdles in 8.39 and 8.43 seconds, both qualifying marks. Wilson also set the school record for the 200 meters in 24.85, besting Gilliane Quirin's 25.6 set in 1995.

Landon Willets established a new school record in the mile, running a 4:10.46 and nipping Martin Reid's 1996 mark of 4:10.88.

Other Lady Bison qualifiers were 800 meter runners Kyli Bean (2:12.82), Kyta Willets (2:12.82), Jessica Haynes (2:20.60) and Chandra Huckabay (2:21.3) and the 4x400 relay team (3:55.13).

Emily Haynes was a provisional qualifier in the 800 meters (2:23.02).

Men's qualifiers beside Willets include Lamar Baskin in the 60 hurdles (8.12), the 4x400 relay team (3:18.07) and the distance medley relay team (10:22.77).

Men's provisional qualifiers were 200 meter runners Derrek Nettles (22.27), James Hall (22.46) and Olasubomi Bashourn (22.54) and 800 meter runners Kurt Thomas (1:56.94), Prophet Bailey (1:57.31) and Bryce Bell (1:58.42).